DSC00007

You’re a legend to the old men, a hero to the child

Though it may look like a wax figure, that’s the real Jerry Reed. (I think he only looked directly at the camera for paying customers.) And to his left, of course, that’s me, thrilled to be standing next to a longtime hero.

We went up to see him perform at the Little Opry in Brown County back in 1998, well out of his prime. But the man was still a consummate entertainer. And it’s a real heartbreaker to hear that he has passed away.

I know Smokey and the Bandit won’t make any lists of the best movies ever made, but it’s one of the earliest movies I remember seeing. And one of the few I won’t hesitate to watch over and over again. Jerry’s Cledus was my favorite part of the movie, a free-wheelin’, wise-crackin’, punch-throwin’ trickster in the true folkloric sense.

For me, Smokey was a gateway to Jerry’s other accomplishments, his not-so-great movies and his respected songwriter/performer career. I remember finding “Amos Moses” and “When You’re Hot, You’re Hot” on vinyl Reader’s Digest compilations at my Grandpa’s houose. I remember being surprised to hear his infection laugh on “Another Puff” on the Dr. Demento Show. I remember enjoying High-Ballin’ during a long B-movie rerntal run.

So in God’s big recipe book, to make a proper Bob Neville, you’ll definitely have to find a pinch of Jerry Reed. If you don’t have any, ask around. Anybody that has some will be more than happy to share.

Godspeed, Snomwan. Put that hammer down and give it hell.